JBay’s Emma Smith takes U20 girls in Cool Shoe surfing comp

Emma Smith (EP) was crowned the U20 Girls’ champion at the Cool Shoe South African Surfing Championships that saw the Southern KwaZulu-Natal (SKZN) surfing team take home the Presidents’ cup.smith_emma_sachamps13karen022n

Emma Smith was a deserved winner of the U20 Girl’s title when she convincingly outscored her national teammates Nicole Pallet (KZNC), Anoush Zakarian (Boland) and Chanelle Botha (SKZN) who finished in that order.


Photos above: Emma Smith at prize giving and in action at North Pier

SKZN surfing team made history today  by winning the team title for the first time in the 48 year history of the event. The closest finish to the team event in the modern era saw SKZN finish just 26 points ahead of 2012 champions Western Province with host province KwaZulu-Natal Central (KZNC) taking third place 112 points further back and 2011 champions Border in fourth spot. The Eastern Province team was placed fifth.

 In the individual SA titles, Casey Grant (SKZN) successfully defended his Men’s crown, Nikita Robb (Border) won the Women’s division for the third successive year and was also named the Surfer of the Contest while Mikey February (WP) reclaimed the U20 Boys’ title he won last year. 

Casey Grant
Casey Grant

The organisers decision to start the final day’s proceedings 30 minutes earlier than the preceding three days paid off when the very contestable one metre surf faded as the tide went out with virtually no waves coming through in the last 10 minutes of the men’s final.

 Casey Grant contributed a massive 4 000 points to his team’s winning total by holding off the challenge of the vastly experienced ISA World Masters champion Greg Emslie (Border). Using a powerful array of powerful carving manoeuvres, Grant posted a title-winning total of 13.25 out of 20 early in the final leaving Emslie, third placed Klee Strachan (SKZN) and fourth placed Matt Bromley (WP) scratching for waves with any scoring potential as time ran out.


Nikita Robb
Nikita Robb

Former WCT campaigner Nikita Robb dominated every heat she contested during the event, including the final, and finished well ahead of runner-up Heather Clark (SKZN), the 42 year former two-time ISA World Women’s Masters champion. Lynne Mackey (KZNC) collected the bronze medal for third place in her first final at a nationally rated event and Tanika Hoffman (WP) earned the copper medal.

 Mikey February, a member of the SA Senior team that won the team title at the ISA World Surfing Games in Panama in April, racked up a heat total of 16.75 points in the U20 Boys’ final, the highest recorded on the last day. The lanky Capetonian finished well ahead of SA Junior team members David van Zyl (KZNC), Dylan Lightfoot (EP) and Max Armstrong (WP) who placed second to fourth respectively.

 The awards ceremony held on the beach at New Pier in Durban after the event saw the finalists in each division receiving gold, silver, bronze and copper medals with Nikita Robb named the Surfer of the Contest and Southern KwaZulu-Natal collecting the coveted President’s Cup.

Below: Photos of some of the EP team members:

Matt McGillvray
Matt McGillvray
Faye Zoetmulder
Faye Zoetmulder
Michael Hill
Michael Hill (St Francis Bay)
Dylan Lightfoot
Dylan Lightfoot

Cool Shoes SA Surfing Championships (New Pier, Durban)

Final Results


Team Title

1. Southern KZN                  22 856 pts      Gold Medal & President’s Cup

2. Western Province            22 830 pts      Silver Medal

3. KZN Central                     22 718 pts      Bronze Medal

4. Border                                21 266pts       Copper Medal

5. Eastern Province             20 836 pts

6. Boland                               17 170 pts

7. Zululand                           15 652 pts     

8. Southern Cape                13 790 pts



1. Casey Grant (SKZN)       13.25              Gold Medal

2. Greg Emslie (Border)      10.30              Silver Medal

3. Klee Strachan (SKZN)    8.35                Bronze Medal

4. Matt Bromley (WP)           7.85                Copper Medal



1. Nikita Robb (Border)       15.25              Gold Medal

2. Heather Cark (SKZN)     11.75             Silver Medal

3. Lynne Mackey (KZNC)   6.80                Bronze Medal

4. Tanika Hoffman (WP)     4.75                Copper Medal


U20 Boys

1. Michael February (WP)  16.75              Gold Medal

2. David van Zyl (KZNC)    11.0                Silver Medal

3. Dylan Lightfoot (EP)       8.10                Bronze Medal

4. Max Armstrong (WP)       7.75                Copper Medal


U20 Girls

1. Emma Smith (EP)            13.50              Gold Medal

2. Nicole Pallet (KZNC)      9.45                Silver Medal

3. Anoush Zakarian (Bol)   6.10                Bronze Medal

4. Chanelle Botha (SKZN) 2.95                Copper Medal

All photos by Karen Wilson, D-Vine Images

Follow St Francis Chronicle on Twitter: @stfranchronicle

All articles edited or written, all photos taken plus all adverts designed by the Editor and printed in the St Francis Chronicle are protected by the law of Copyright ©. Reproduction or copying of any part of the contents of this newspaper and its concept and design can only be done with the Editor’s written permission.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s