Tasha Mentasti clinches SA Masters Surfing Champs woman’s title -updated

Tasha Mentasti  of Durban North, clinched the women’s division of the SA Masters Surfing Championships at Durban’s New Pier today.

Mentasti, a former Cape Town resident and Border representative, beat defending champion and former world number two Heather Clark (SKZN), Bianca Bosman (Border) and Julia Rutherford (Zul) respectively to clinch her first ever national surfing championship.

Tasha Mentasti won the Women’s title at the Masters Surfing Champs at Durban’s new Pier today , 29 July 2012. Photo: Karen Wilson D-Vine images
Tasha Mentasti at the recent Billabong Pro JBay. Photo: Bev Mortimer

Current Port Elizabeth resident Michelle Van Kempen (EP) from St Francis Bay, finished equal fifth in the women’s division. Van Kempen boasts an illustrious surfing career in South Africa, holding two junior championships, one student championship, four national Long boarding championships and one open championship.

Another standout performances on the first two days of competition (26-29 July) came from former two time World Masters Champion and 2011 South African champion Heather Clark (Southern KZN).

Michelle van Kempen (EP) from St Francis Bay came fifth in the Masters Surfing Champs today. Photo Karen Wilson – D-Vine Images
Tasha Mentasti, Women’s winner of the 2012 SA Masters Surfing Championships. Photo: Karen Wilson, D-Vine images

See related post with Men’s winner, Greg Emslie:


Three time SA Champion and former ASP World Tour surfer Greg Emslie (Border) posted a 17 point score out of a possible 20 in his second round Masters (Over 35) heat which is the highest score of the event so far. Other surfers who impressed the judges in this division were two Southern KZN surfers, Ben Roberts and Gary Van Wieringen.
In the “youngest” division Lyle Bottcher (KZN Central) and Alan Johns (Zululand) posted high scoring rides in their first round heats while Tim Kanigowski (WP), a champion surfer of the 60’s showed his class with an 8.5 wave score in the Over 55 (Veterans) division on Day two.

Grandmaster (Over 40) round one performances came from John Mc Carthy (KZN Central) and Gareth Sepp ( Border) while in the Over 45 (Kahunas) division former World and South African champion Marc Wright (KZN Central) and multiple South African Champion David Malherbe (Border) were the pick in this group.
Glen Row (Western Province) and Judge Olivier (KZN Central) dominated the Over 50 (Grandkahunas), both posting wave scores in excess of 7 out of 10 to dominate this competitive division so far.

The 2012 SA Masters Championships will decide seven individual champions and determine the top Provincial team. Each team member’s points will count towards the Masters Cup, which was won by Southern KZN in 2005 and 2006 and by Border in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011.

The 2012 SA Masters Championships will conclude with the seven finals today. The Award ceremony will take place at New Pier straight after the last final.

Surfing South Africa is recognized by the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) as the governing body for the sport in South Africa. Surfing South Africa is a member of the International Surfing Association (ISA).

(Article edited by St Francis Chronicle).

All articles edited or written, all photos taken, plus all adverts designed, by the Editor and printed in the St Francis Chronicle are protected by Copyright ©.  Reproduction or copying of any part of the contents of this newspaper and its concept and design can only be done with the Editor’s written permission.