Western Province wins provincial champs again

Once again Western Province team members  celebrated their victory over other provinces in the final day of the Billabong SA surfing Champs.

The finals went down in great surf at Misty Cliffs today where three to four-foot peaks made for some excellent conditions for the competitors to show their skills.

From L to R – Provincial 2012 Champions: Heidi Palmboom, Nikita Robb, Mikey February, Casey Grant. Photo: Alan Van Gysen ©

 In the U20 Girls Heidi Palmboom from KZNC became is the new champion. She beat Tanika Hoffman (WP), Emma Smith (EP) and Nikita Kekana (SKZN) into second, third and fourth place respectively.

The U20 Boys was an air-off between Mikey February (WP) and Dylan Lightfoot (EP), with local boy February getting the nod and beating Lightfoot into second. Jarred Veldhuis (EP) was third and Steven Sawyer (EP) came in fourth place.

Nikita Robb from Border was the eventual winner in the Open Women’s division, retaining her title in the process. She beat Chantelle Rautenbach (Bol) in second, Tarryn Chudleigh (WP) in third and Krystal Tavenor (Bol) in fourth place.

The 2012 Open Mens Champion is Casey Grant (SKZN). Dan Redman (KZNC) was a close second, ahead of Beyrick De Vries (KZNC) in third and defending champion Greg Emslie (Bor) in fourth.

The VonZipper Air Show was a punt-fest into the cross shore conditions, with Diran Zakarian (Bol) taking it, and the R1000.

One of the new awards, the Kustom Kustomised Manoeuvre, went to Jared Veldhuis (WP) along with the R1000 prize money.

The DaKine Highest Heat Score Award and R1000 went to Dan Redman for the highest heat score of the event with 17 points.

The Zigzag Blowing Up Award and R3000 went to Max Armstrong (WP).

The BuchuLife Performance Award and R2000 went to Nikita Kekana (SKZN)

The final team placings were:
1. WP – 43950
2. KZNC – 38782
3. EP – 37418
4. BOR – 36840
5. BOL – 35528
6. SKZN – 33990
7. SC – 24660
8. Zul – 19736