Twenty municipalities with arrear accounts to have electricity interrupted

Eskom is set to stop electricity supply to those municipalities that have their accounts in arrears from 5 June 2014.

This is because at the end of March the total municipal arrear debt greater than 30 days was R4.6 billion. Of this amount, the top 20 defaulting municipalities are currently indebted to Eskom to the amount of R3.68 billion for the bulk supply of electricity.

In a statement released at lunch time today Eskom said it is notifying all parties who are likely to be materially.affected.

The interim Chief Executive of Eskom Mr Zethembe Khoza says: “Non-payment for electricity undermines Eskom’s statutory obligation to generate and supply electricity to municipalities nationally on a financially sustainable basis.  We have therefore decided to exercise our right according to the provisions of the Electricity Regulation Act 4 of 2006 and the supply agreement with municipalities, which entitled us to disconnect the supply of electricity to defaulting municipalities.”  Eskom says it ecognises the disconnection of electricity supply may cause undue hardship to consumers and members of the community and may adversely affect the delivery of other services, however, customer disconnection is always the last resort explored.

In view of this, Eskom is contemplating a regulated interruption of electricity as indicated below:

Monday to Friday         Saturday and Sunday

6 – 10 am                              7 am – 10 am

5 pm – 9 pm                   5 pm – 8 pm

Eskom said a list of defaulting municipalities will be published per province by 30 April 2015 in local provincial media channels.  Consumers within the jurisdiction of a defaulting municipality will be given adequate notice in terms of the Promotion of Administrative Justice Act, no 3 of 2000, and will be given the opportunity to make written representations to Eskom.

Below is a list of the top 20 defaulting municipalities (in no particular order):

Maluti-a-Phofung Municipality

  • Matjhabeng Municipality
  • Emalahleni Local Municipality
  • Ngwathe Local Municipality
  • Thaba Chweu Local Municipality
  • Lekwa Local Municipality
  • Govan Mbeki Municipality
  • City of Matlosana Local Municipality
  • Naledi Local Municipality
  • Thabazimbi Local Municipality
  • Msukaligwa Local Municipality
  • Lichtenburg Municipality
  • Nala Local Municipality
  • Makana Local Municipality
  • Madibeng Local Municipality
  • Randfontein Local Municipality
  • Dihlabeng Municipality
  • Nketoana Local Municipality
  • Nama Khoi Local Municipality
  • Westonaria Local Municipality


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s