Great results at Billabong Junior Series at Seals

Small and onshore waves didn’t deter the best junior surfers in the country as they tore the Seal Point waves apart in their bids for event and series titles. In an exciting finish to the 2014 Billabong Junior Series presented by BOS, the finalists all threw caution to the wind, going for broke in the marginal conditions.
In the U12 Boys final it was young York Van Jaarsveldt who outpointed Tide Lee Ireland for the win, while in the U14 Girls division it was Kirsty McGillivray who took the win from Anne Jellema-Butler. In the fiercely contested U14 Boy Final it was Sebastian Williams who took victory from Koby Oberholzer.
Ruth Armstrong won the U16 Girls division beating Crystal Hulett, while Adin Masencamp took out the U16 Boys division from Alex Van Rijswick.
The Pro Junior Women’s final was a close one, with the two JBay sisters, Emma and Gina Smith, placing first and second, with Teal Hogg and Crystal Hulett in third and fourth positions respectively..

Crystal Hulett © Kody McGregor
Crystal Hulett © Kody McGregor
Emma Sith © Kody McGregor
Emma Smith Photo © Kody McGregor

Emma Smith was on top form throughout the series © Kody McGregor
The Pro Junior Men’s heat was an action-packed affair, with the 4 surfers going for broke in the highly contestable high-tide conditions. Adin Masencamp, showing some fatigue after winning his U16 final, placed fourth, and Josh Smit failed to find the connecting waves and came third.

Shane Sykes © Kody McGregor
Shane Sykes © Kody McGregor


JBay surfer Dylan Lightfoot, who was surfing fast and dynamic, wasn’t able to beat an on-form Shane Sykes, who totally dominated the final and earned the biggest heat score of the event in the process.
“I’m stoked with the way that final went,” said Sykes afterwards. “The waves were so much fun out there, and with the onshore it reminded me a lot of where I surf in Durban, in Ballito. I was feeling confident and have had a pretty good run lately, with a good board, so it was a great event or me.”

Final Event Results
U12 Boys Final
1. York Van Jaarsveldt
2. Tide Lee Ireland
3. Dylan Hendriks
4. Kye McGregor
U14 Girls Final
1. Kirsty McGillivray
2. Anne Jellema-Butler
3. Zoe Smith
4. Olivia Izzard
U14 Boys Final
1. Sebastian Williams
2. Koby Oberholzer
3. Karl Steen
4. Max Elkington
U16 Girls Final
1. Ruth Armstrong
2. Crystal Hulett
3. Cana Foster
4. Taghiti Gericke
U16 Boys Final
1. Adin Masencamp
2. Alex Van Rijswick
3. Jake Elkington
4. Joshe Faulkner
Pro Junior Women’s Final
1. Emma Smith
2. Gina Smith
3. Teal Hogg
4. Crystal Hulett
Pro Junior Men’s Final
1. Shane Sykes
2. Dylan Lightfoot
3. Josh Smit
4. Adin Masencamp

Follow St Francis Chronicle in Twitter: @stfranchronicle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s