Jasper Mocke takes 2014 CSF Surfski Challenge

The Cape St Francis Surfski Challenge 2014 held in beautiful weather over 14km on Saturday was won by Jasper Mocke in a time of 57min 38sec.







Mocke is unquestionably a top surfski paddler in the world today.  In second place was Matt Bouman, 25 seconds behind; third was Sean Rice, 2013 World Surfski Champion, a further 36 seconds back.

Jasper Mocke ahead of Matt Bouman at the halfway point
Jasper Mocke ahead of Matt Bouman at the halfway point

The magnificent course saw the best calibre field of surfski paddlers ever assembled in the East Cape head off from Cape St Francis Beach, around Shark Pt in St Francis Bay, then back to the beach, with a further loop past Seal Point lighthouse.


The 51 paddlers experienced race conditions they will never forget: crystal clear warm water teeming with fish, no wind on a hot sunny day, and not a cloud in the sky. Special thanks must go to the sponsors, Dirk Ellis VW, Humansdorp Wimpy, and Carbonology Surfskis, and also to the safety boats provided by NSRI, Dirk Ellis VW and Brian Pearce.

10151953_491668260935046_4754872159171330950_n 1604932_491668177601721_1993684677633348475_n


2014 Cape St Francis Surfski Challenge
Pos Time Name1 Surname1 Club1 Name2 Surname2 Club2
1 00:57:38 Jasper Mocke Pcc

2 00:58:03 Matthew Bouman Dragon
3 00:58:39 Sean Rice Pcc
4 00:59:47 Steve Woods Bcc Bartho Natal
5 01:00:41 Jean Luc Mauvis Kf
6 01:01:03 Luke Nisbet Pirates
7 01:01:38 Barry Lewin Vc
8 01:02:18 Wade Krieger
9 01:02:30 Adam Nisbet Pirates
10 01:02:38 Luke Mcnish Bwcc
11 01:04:32 Gary Africa Bwcc Don Mansfield Bwcc
12 01:04:46 Richard Von Wildemann Bwcc Haden
13 01:05:04 Haydn Holmes Sfpc Richard Arderne Sfpc
14 01:05:46 Jordan Zeelie Bwcc
15 01:06:17 Craig Walland Bwcc
16 1:07:001 Hein Van Rooyen Bwcc
17 01:07:29 Wayne Jones Bwcc
18 01:09:22 Rob Welsch Bwcc
19 01:09:32 Keith Theron Bwcc Jason Kalogerogoulos Bwcc
20 01:10:06 James Thorburn Bwcc
21 01:11:37 Peter King Sfpc
22 01:11:45 Jason Aubin Rucc
23 01:11:58 Brenden Bosch Bwcc
24 01:12:27 Casper Theron Plet Alan Neate Ar
25 01:14:24 Andrew Page
26 01:14:32 Jason Goedhals Bwcc
27 01:15:39 Rob Lee Bwcc
28 01:15:54 Clint Hempel Sfpc Dirk Ellis Sfpc
29 01:16:49 Aiden Mackenzie Bwcc
30 01:16:57 Danie Coetzer Sfpc
31 01:18:32 Nielen Beyers Bwcc
32 01:18:57 Daryl Staples Sfpc
33 01:19:00 Roeltin Louw Sfpc
34 01:20:31 Duncan Edward Bwcc Trevor Vaugn Bwcc
35 01:20:44 Kirstin Scott Bwcc
36 01:25:04 Paul Gerrard Bwcc
37 01:25:20 Luke Mc Farland Bwcc
38 01:26:15 Peter Page
39 01:28:09 Datlyn Foster Bwcc
40 01:29:56 RON VERHEIJ BWCC

The Weather:

Sunshine, 29 degrees, very gentle east (2 knots!), 1.5m swell

The Paddlers:

Sean Rice – 2013 ICF World Surfski Champion, Current South African Champion, US Surfski Champion, Euro Challenge Champion. 

Jasper Mocke – two wins from two races in the opening rounds of the World Series this year. Mocke is the in-form ski paddler on the planet today. He was Cape Town Downwind Champion 2013 beating Hank McGregor and older brother Dawid in pumping conditions. Jasper loves the Eastern Cape and will be hungry for a win. 

Matt Bouman – World Surf Lifesaving Iron Man Icon with multiple South African titles, has represented his country in five disciplines, an incredible achievement. The lanky Durbanite loves his warm home waters, but also has a fondness for St Francis. At present Big Matt is a front runner in the major international and local ski races. 

Barry Lewin – National Team Captain, Liffey Decent Winner, Avon Decent Winner, St Barts to St Martin Winner and record holder, Durban Marine Surfski Series Winner, Durban Winter Surfski Series Winner, 3 x USA Surfski Champs Double Winner

Richard von Wildemann – the top surfski paddler in the East Cape, winner SA Lifesaving Men’s Open Single and Double, sixth in the Auckland (New Zealand) King of the Harbour, fourth at Durban’s King of the Bay, and 12th at the World Cup, bronze medal in the Open Taplin Relay at the ’07 Aussie Surf Lifesaving Nationals (“my proudest achievement”), safe to say he is one of the top dozen ski paddlers in South Africa.

Jordan Zeelie – SA Junior Marathon and Sprint Champion,Top 5 Pete Marlin 2013. Holder of both a SA Single and Double Junior Lifesaving surfski title.

Luke McNish – SA surfski champs 2009: 1st junior, SA Lifesaving Champs 2009: 2nd u/19 single surfski, PE-EL 2010: 1st u/18, SA sprints 2014: 3rd overall

Cash Prizes – Carbonology Paddle – Wimpy & Engen Vouchers – Lucky Draws

Safety: NSRI, and safety boat. Lifejackets/leash compulsory

Cape St Francis Surfski Challenge - all paddlers after the race Cape St Francis Surfski Challenge

Follow St Francis Chronicle on twitter: @stfranchronicle

Photos: Richard Arderne

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s