Billabong Junior Series final at Seal point this weekend

The Billabong Junior Series 2013 is set to take place this weekend Saturday, 21  September – Monday 23 September  at Seal Point, Cape St Francis.

And St Francis Bay’s Crystal Hulett will be comperting among the top junior surfers in the U18 category.

Favourable winds are forecast and a clean, long-range swell predicted for the whole weekend. The top surfers in the country will be vying for their respective series titles as well as a number of specialty awards. The series has R750,000 in cash and prizes for the surfers, and is the premier junior surfing series in the country. 


The U12 Boys division has been all about Max Elkington from Hout Bay, who has won all three of the events and holds a convincing lead at this stage. Angelo Faulkner from JBay and Saxton Randall from Durban have also posted good results in this division.

In the U14 Boys division, Adin Masencamp from Strand has been dominating, with Ethan Fletcher (Kom) and Jose Faulkner (JBay) posting good results along the way.

The U14 Girls sees a bit of a tussle between Kai Woolf from JBay who has a slight lead over second placed Sophie Bell from Durban. Olivia Izzard (La Lucia) in third is still within striking distance of the leaders and this promises to be an exciting finish.

Jordan Maree from Kalk Bay has a solid lead in the U16 Boys Division, leading from Tim Baard (JBay) in second and Durban surfer Ntando Msibi in third.
Chanelle Botha from Warner Beach, Crystal Hulett from St Francis Bay, plus Gina Smith and Tahra Uren, from Jeffresyeys Bay will compete among others in in the U18 Girls division.

The U18 Boys division is a two-horse race at this stage, with very little separating Max Armstrong (Scarborough) and Josh Smit from Durban. 
Bluff surfer Heidi Palmboom has a convincing lead in the U20 Girls division, but Emma Smith (JBay) is hot on her heels and Chanelle Botha is lying third.

Mikey February is in front in the premier U20 Boys division, having posted good results in all three events thus far. Mikey Venter is currently in second and Jarred Veldhuis is lying third.

Apart from the series titles, there are also a number of specialty awards for the junior surfers.:
– BOS Surfer Of The Series award.
This award will go to the surfer who has performed the most consistently across the whole series. It will be open for entries from all divisions and the winner will walk away with a 20K overall prize consisting of R10K cash, a custom made Bos surf board, special Bos merchandise and a year’s supply of BOS Ice Tea.
– All Aboard Travel have put up a Sportsmanship Award of a return ticket to Bali with four nights accommodation valued at R20k for the surfer from any division who displays the best sportsmanship over the series.
– The DaKine Youthful Movement Award goes to the surfer who performs the most innovative or progressive move performed during the competition.
– The VonZipper Flair Up Award will go to the surfer who successfully lands the biggest or most sylish aerial move of the event.
– The Nixon WTA (Winner Takes All) prize of an engraved Nixon watch will go to the surfer with the highest heat score. Nixon have also put up a imited edition 48-20 All Black / Multi LTD Watch, one of only 15 in the country, to the winner of the U20 Boys Division, as well as headphones for every competitor in the event.


Follow St Francis Chronicle on Twitter: @stfranchronicle

All articles edited or written, all photos taken plus all adverts designed by the Editor and printed in the St Francis Chronicle are protected by the law of Copyright ©. Reproduction or copying of any part of the contents of this newspaper and its concept and design can only be done with the Editor’s written permission.