29 medals for SA in Paralympics

Team South Africa ended the 2012 Paralympic Games campaign last night with 29 medals.

Team SA won a further five medals yesterday (8 September 2012).  Medals were won by Dyan Buis (silver, T38 200-metre), Kevin Paul (silver, S9 100m breaststroke), Fanie van der Merwe (gold, T12 100m, Anrune Liebenberg (silver, T46, 400m) and Oscar “Blade Runner” Pistorius who put the seal on a successful Paralympics when he won the T44 400m.

The final medal breakdown was eight gold, 12 silver and nine bronze.

Congratulating the team, SASCOC CEO Tubby Reddy said the team have made the whole of South Africa proud.  “To win so many medals at a Games when the standard of competition has rocketed in four years since Beijing 2008, shows  we are on the right track.

“Congratulations to Dyan for his third medal of the championships and Kevin for silver on the final day of the swimming competition. Also to Fanie for his great comeback after he had struggled in the 200m.

“Anrune also did well to get two medals in her first Paralympics.  And then there’s Oscar Pistorius, our flag bearer at the opening ceremony, who closed off Team SA’s effort here in London by defending the title he won in Beijing four years ago.

“Hats off to all our medal-winners here in London, in fact to all members of the team, from athletes to administrators, who have made this trip such a success.”

The Games come to a conclusion on today (Sunday, 9 September) and the next Paralympics will be hosted by Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in 2016

(Edited) –  News courtesy of SAnews.gov.za

All articles edited or written, all photos taken plus all adverts designed by the Editor and printed in the St Francis Chronicle are protected by the law of Copyright ©.  Reproduction or copying of any part of the contents of this newspaper and its concept and design can only be done with the Editor’s written permission.