JBay youngsters give great performances in PE Surf series

Emma Smith and Steven Sawyer delivered stellar performances during the BloodScan Africa Surf Series, Port Elizabeth

The third leg of the series was fiercely contested yesterday at the Pipe, Port Elizabeth, with the Eastern Cape’s most talented young surfers looking to stake their claim for the BloodScan Surf Series title. (See phtos of winning surfers: https://stfrancischronicle.com/2011/08/01/kougas-junior-surfers-excel-at-pipe-beach/
“We’re thrilled with the quality of surfing and the growing support of the series,” says Lewis Khoury, MD of BloodScan Africa and Europe. “As our brand gains momentum throughout the Eastern Cape with our first center opening in Jeffrey’s Bay last week, we’ve seen this event really gain traction and become a premier platform in the Eastern Province to showcase the phenomenal surfing talent this region has bred!”

Many  spectators soaked up the  sun with family and friends. The competitive platforms have raised the standard of surfing in the region and yesterday’s event delivered some of the best moments of the series to date with a few new faces stepping up onto the winner and runner-up podium for the first time in the series.
“We had two specific goals in mind when creating the 4-part Surf Series,” says Khoury. “We wanted to grow the region’s talent through consistent exposure to competitive environments to enable them to test and validate their skills among the best the region has to offer. We also wanted to reward consistency and growth .

 “Yesterday’s standard of surfing and the new faces indicates we’re succeeding in our goals. It’s fantastic for Eastern Province surfing.”
Stand out performances include Tobias Schroeder from Jeffreys Bay earning a second place in the fiercely competitive U17 boys final, and Crystal Hulett of St Francis Bay taking top honours in the U13 girls final. BloodScan brand ambassadors, Emma Smith and Steven Sawyer also from Jeffreys Baywon in the U17 girls and U17 boys respectively.

( Places 1 -4 descending)

U17 Boys final:

Steven Sawyer (Jbay)
Tobias Schroeder (Jbay)
Dylan Lightfoot (Jbay)
Jarred Veldhuis (CT)

U17 Girls Final:

Emma Smith (Jbay)
Gina Smith (Jbay)
Philippa Linder (PE)
Azraa Abrahams (EP)
U15 Boys:

Matthew McGillivray (Jbay)
Jerry Van Wyk (EP)
Josh Chipps (St Francis)
Tim Baard (Jbay)
U13 Boys Final:

Jose Faulkner (EP)
Rewaldo Abersalie (EP)
Angelo Faulkner (EP)
Alex Van Rijswijck (PE)
U15 Girls Final:

Tahra Vren (EP)
Britney Linder (PE)
Robyn Van Der Merwe (PE)
U13 Girls Final:

Crystal Hulett (St Francis Bay)
Kai Woolf (Jbay)
Zoe Smith (Jbay)

All articles written, all photos taken, plus all adverts designed, by the Editor and printed in the St Francis Chronicle are protected by Copyright.  Reproduction or copying of any part of the contents of this newspaper and its concept and design can only be done with the Editor’s written permission

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s